Another Young Collaborator of the More Doctors Program that Multiplies Health
The Right to a Full and Healthy Life
At a Good Pace Sowing of Potatoes in Mayabeque
A space to Talk about Rights

It is the name of one of the two new provinces (Artemisa and Mayabeque) approved by the National Assembly of Cuba in August of 2010 and whose operation took effect on January 1st, 2011.

It is made up of eight municipalities of the former La Havana province and three municipalities of the province of Pinar del Río.

The new province of Artemisa becomes the thirteenth in the country for its extension (it surpasses only Mayabeque and Havana) and the eleven by its population (it surpasses Cienfuegos, Sancti Spiritus, Ciego de Ávila and Mayabeque), as well as tThe province with greater population density excepting Havana and Santiago de Cuba.

It limits to the west with Pinar del Río, to the north with the Strait of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, to the south with Gulf of Batabanó and to the east with the provinces of Havana and Mayabeque.

Artemisa has a population of 502 392 inhabitants and its surface is of 4 thousand 004,27 km2. It has an agricultural area of 272 849 hectares, 68.1% of the territory, which allows it to produce food to meet its demand and support the capital’s.

In addition, it has a high development industrial port: Mariel.

Longest river: Los Colorados (Hondo of San Cristóbal) 113,2 km. Long 604 km2 of area 6 tributaries Vertiente Sur

Born: In Sierra del Rosario, Cordillera de Guaniguanico, at 22 ° 34 'north latitude and 83 ° 53' west longitude, at 340 meters altitude. Ends: In the Gulf of Batabanó. Run: North-South direction.

Highest elevation: The Pan de Guajaibón, with 692 meters of height.


Compartir / Share

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter