Title III of Helms-Burton Law: An outrage against sovereignty
Díaz-Canel Highlights Support of Latin American Students to Venezuela
Ailama Cecé Included in All Stars Team of the Fifth Pan American Volleyball Cup
Cuba, Second Position in Correspondence Chess Tournament

It is the name of one of the two new provinces (Artemisa and Mayabeque) approved by the National Assembly of Cuba in August of 2010 and whose operation took on January 1, 2011.

It is made up of eight municipalities of the Province of Havana and three former municipalities of the province of Pinar del Río.

The new province of Artemisa becomes the thirteenth in the country by its extension (it surpasses only Mayabeque and Havana) and the eleven by its population (surpasses Cienfuegos, Sancti Spiritus, Ciego de Ávila and Mayabeque), as well as the province with greater population density excepting to Havana and Santiago de Cuba provinces.

It is bordered to the west by Pinar del Río, to the north by the Strait of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, to the south by the Gulf of Batabanó and to the east by the province of Havana and Mayabeque Province.

It has a population of 502 392 inhabitants and has a surface of 4 thousand 004,27 km2. Artemisa has an agricultural area of 272 849 hectares, 68.1% of the territory, which allows it to produce food to meet its demand and support the capital. In addition, it has a site of perspective of high industrial port development such as Mariel.

Longest river:

Los Colorados (Hondo de San Cristóbal) 113,2 km. Long 604 km2 of area 6 tributaries Vertiente Sur. It runs from North to-South direction beginning in Sierra del Rosario, Cordillera de Guaniguanico, at 22 ° 34 'north latitude and 83 ° 53' west longitude, at 340 meters altitude, to the Gulf of Batabanó. Run:.

Highest elevation: Pan de Guajaibón, with 692 meters of height.

Compartir / Share

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter