Mayabeque, Cuba: Mayabeque defeated Holguín (6×0) to recover its winning pace and Granma, current monarch, took revenge against Matanzas (7×3) in the closing of the fourth individual subseries of the 61st National Baseball Series.

The Hurricanes returned to the top of the standings thanks to good pitching, with the performances of left-hander Mailon Cruz (2-1) and right-hander Adrián Sosa, who silenced the Cubs in front of their fans at Calixto García Stadium .

The winner Cruz walked six complete innings, with only four hits allowed, one strikeout and the same number of walks. The reliever Sosa pitched the remaining three innings without problems and a rival retired by way of strikes.

 Although its director Michael González was expelled for protesting a count, the visiting team exhibited a harmonious action and celebrated scores in innings five, six and nine, with third baseman Lázaro Martínez (4-2, 1CI, 1CA) and outfielder Denis Laza (3-2, 3CI, 2CA, 1-HR) in notable roles at home plate.

The victory returned Mayabeque to the top of the standings, tied with Santiago de Cuba, which suspended its fight against Cienfuegos on Sunday due to rain. Both squads will collide this Monday from 10:00 am at the grass of the  Guillermón Moncada stadium.

Hanging from the right arm of the undefeated Yoel Mojena (3-0), Granma avenged the setback suffered in the opening challenge of the tournament and left Matanzas without weapons, which depended on their ace Yoanni Yera (0-1).

A paragraph apart deserves the forward man of the Alazanes, Roel Santos, after connecting 5-4 with two runs scored, three RBIs and the only home run of the winning squad in the Mártires de Barbados park.

The day also showed positive performances by Sancti Spíritus, Ciego de Ávila, Camagüey, Artemisa and Villa Clara over Industriales (6×1), Isla de la Juventud (9×8), Pinar del Río (11×1), Las Tunas (2×1) and Guantánamo (15×6), respectively.

Thus, Santiago (7-2) and Mayabeque (7-2) lead the fight ahead of Ciego de Ávila (7-3), Matanzas (6-3), Villa Clara (5-4), Pinar (5-5 ), Granma (5-5) and Isla de la Juventud (5-5), in that order.

The 61st Series kicked off on January 23 with 16 teams ready to face a schedule of 75 matches in a qualifying stage that will award eight tickets to the initial round (quarterfinals) of the playoffs.

Por Redacción digital

Equipo de redactores del sitio web de Radio Mayabeque

Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *